Skip to main content
Today is not my favorite day. I figured I have a lot to get done today, and I was sure I could get them done, class gets out at 1:00, and that leaves plenty of time. Better yet I skipped math (shhh...don't tell my sisters) so I would have more time to get them done without causing Jessica to have to babysit too much longer. So these are the things I needed to get done today: Go to General Electric Company and get the trailer power in our name, go to DMV to get the trailers title switched over to us, go to Post office to get P.O. box (for the second time. See Megan, I do try), go to Towanda City office to finally get the power turned off at the old house, and go to the auto parts store to get brake pads (because my car is making funny noises and has that hot smell to it...). You want to know what I actually got to work out for me? I got the brake pads...and I can only hope that they are the right ones. I went to the DMV with the signed title in hand, but the lady tells me I need a bill of sale from Don...so on to the next thing. I went to the auto parts store -- success. Then I go to the post office in towanda and the lady tells me that I need two I.D.'s : drivers license and one of the following: Vehicle registration/insurance, morgage papers, or voters registration I.D....I don't have any -- the vihicle registration is still in my parents name, I don't have auto insurance (i know, tsktsk), and i have no morgage, and I am not registered to vote ( i know, tsktsk)...so I can't do that either....on to the next task: I go to the city office and turn off the power...somehow between when we moved out and now our bill became $140.00...but the guy got it down to $97 somehow ( I guess that's a small success). Then I come home....what did I forget to do? do you know? I forgot to go to the General electric...I'm just calling it a loss for a different day....
so, yeah...i'm a little peeved...oh well...I brought it all on myself.
I love all of you...I'm so glad emily got a blog!! yay!

Comments

M said…
Life is too complicated. Divide and conquer.
Emily said…
oh, deep breaths lady. And you know I have to say it... DON'T SKIP MATH! I speak from experience.
erin said…
Nobody needs math. We have calculators.
erin said…
Again ... you leave me waiting for a story ... sigh ... blog already you! I miss hearing about my Katie.

Popular posts from this blog

Caught Bare Bottomed.

Yesterday I went to retrieve my kids from playing in the backyard with the neighbors....When I round the corner I behold my 5 year old daughter with her shorts baring her bottom to the 6 year old neighbor boy. Me:  M!  E!  It is time to go home. now! M:  E did it too! (while sheepishly pulling her shorts back up and E snaps his head around to look at me with big eyes and "O" mouth) WHY?

Stranger Danger

Ok. So, we've talked to M about strangers a bit, telling her to be safe and what not. A couple of times she brings it up when we say no she can't do something and she says "because there are stangers?" or some such. We haven't talked about it recently, but apparently the message stuck: We were at Wal-Mart, had just finised checking out and J went to use the restroom and M wanted to get a drink from the water fountain -I was still a few steps behind, so M said "Mom will you come a little bit closer?" and I said yes, and she continued "because you wouldn't want a stranger to grab me." I smiled and said "No I wouldn't like that." And she said "You would say 'oh no! someone has taken my child!" At which point I couldn't help but laugh and tell her how much I loved her.

Chicken Adventure Begins

Our first step towards the 'homestead' lifestyle: CHICKENS.  J and I have been researching, reading books & articles, and saving a TON of info to our Pinterest board.  I know we are in for some surprises and troubles, but we are doing our best to head them off and avoid other peoples mistakes. (J is still trying to convince me that we need to start pigs this year.  I keep reminding him that is one of the PRIMARY mistakes other homesteaders have made: being too eager and getting in too deep, too fast). So, we start our garden and chickens this year - keeping our fingers crossed that we aren't putting them in poor locations.  The chickens are the first thing branching out into our additional 2 acres.  The coop and kennel are going at the outside, back corner of our fenced in yard.  Our coop is valiantly being made from old cabinets we picked up at the local Habitat for Humanity, Re-Store.  We intend to paint, add roof, prop up on legs, and insert s...