Skip to main content

new things this week

This week was my birthday (on Sunday). I am now 26 and don't feel a day over 20 ;) !! For my birthday I chose Ice Skating - we have never been before. It was a lot of fun, fairly entertaining, and now my arms hurt like crazy! No one ever told me how much work it would be to hold a kid up to ice skate!! They loved it though, and it was fun. Plus ice cream cake - which I get every year. Justi gave me a birthday date including babysitting (her of course), so John and I went to dinner and a movie, and some shopping. It was great!

On the M side of things: apparently she is going to marry Mathew, and she is going to move in with Cara and Gillian! new devolopments, of course. However, she has specified that she WILL come back to me. She will go to Cara & Gillians, then go to Mathew's, and then come back to me, and keep doing that over and over. She did suggest we all move into Megan's, but...well I don't know if that will be happening or not... :)

And not to leave E and J out, they are doing well. Not much new there though. We got a book from the library, and E gets a kick out of it - the first humor I think he understands. Its got animals putting on clothes, and it says "Red shirt, blue shirt, green shirt..." each one under the corresponding color and animal. Then, there is a turkey that has the said article of clothing on incorrectly (say on his head, for example) and it says "...oops." E cracks up every time.

Comments

M said…
Hmmm...I might need to get a bigger house! And, clearly, I will have to meet Mathew first.

I love it when they start getting jokes!

Popular posts from this blog

Caught Bare Bottomed.

Yesterday I went to retrieve my kids from playing in the backyard with the neighbors....When I round the corner I behold my 5 year old daughter with her shorts baring her bottom to the 6 year old neighbor boy. Me:  M!  E!  It is time to go home. now! M:  E did it too! (while sheepishly pulling her shorts back up and E snaps his head around to look at me with big eyes and "O" mouth) WHY?

Stranger Danger

Ok. So, we've talked to M about strangers a bit, telling her to be safe and what not. A couple of times she brings it up when we say no she can't do something and she says "because there are stangers?" or some such. We haven't talked about it recently, but apparently the message stuck: We were at Wal-Mart, had just finised checking out and J went to use the restroom and M wanted to get a drink from the water fountain -I was still a few steps behind, so M said "Mom will you come a little bit closer?" and I said yes, and she continued "because you wouldn't want a stranger to grab me." I smiled and said "No I wouldn't like that." And she said "You would say 'oh no! someone has taken my child!" At which point I couldn't help but laugh and tell her how much I loved her.

Chicken Adventure Begins

Our first step towards the 'homestead' lifestyle: CHICKENS.  J and I have been researching, reading books & articles, and saving a TON of info to our Pinterest board.  I know we are in for some surprises and troubles, but we are doing our best to head them off and avoid other peoples mistakes. (J is still trying to convince me that we need to start pigs this year.  I keep reminding him that is one of the PRIMARY mistakes other homesteaders have made: being too eager and getting in too deep, too fast). So, we start our garden and chickens this year - keeping our fingers crossed that we aren't putting them in poor locations.  The chickens are the first thing branching out into our additional 2 acres.  The coop and kennel are going at the outside, back corner of our fenced in yard.  Our coop is valiantly being made from old cabinets we picked up at the local Habitat for Humanity, Re-Store.  We intend to paint, add roof, prop up on legs, and insert s...